Hey….It’s been a while!

How is everyone?  I’ve really missed you guys.   I’ve been busy going on our family vacay to the Dominican and  traveling out to Salt Lake City to see my  granddaughter and my daughter.  They moved into a much better place although I spent countless hours cleaning their new town home!

 

Enjoying the patio

Enjoying the patio

I am celebrating my  33rd anniversary today!  That is a long time of married life and family raising!  Kevin just told me that our anniversary (may 23)  is the day 80 years ago  (1934) that Bonnie and Clyde were gunned down in a police ambush….nice.  That is so romantic!

They remind me of Kev and me!

They remind me of Kev and me!

 

I think he is happy??

Do we look like Bonnie and Clyde??  Kevin might be packin heat under that tux!

I am lucky to have followed in my parents’ footsteps of finding and loving a best friend,  dwelling on common ground, successfully raising caring children, and accepting each other as we grow older. Life comes and goes around…..it’s almost like deja vu  with a twist.  I find myself telling my girls what my mom told me…..”enjoy the beauty of the early morning hours when you have to be awake and functioning,”  “appreciate the small details,”  “splash your face with cold water….it will do wonders!” Truly advice that never goes out of style!

I have a lot going on in my brain right now.  My 87 year old mom is getting hip replacement surgery today.  It is risky at this age.  Plus – she has some embolism problems that complicate things.  I talked to her tonight and she said to me, “Jules – I’m okay if I pass at some point during this ordeal.  I’ve had a good life.  I’m so happy that you girls (her 4 daughters) get along and have a close relationship.  I was an only child, you know, so I never had the closeness of a sibling.  I am so glad that you girls are so close.”  How does one respond to that?  I felt like crying, but mercifully….the phone cut off at that point.  I tried calling my mom back, but the line was busy.  I swear – my mom’ s phone has the worst service in the world!  Or maybe she hits the “off” button with her cheek (accidentally on purpose) and we get cut off.  Either way – the communication is disrupted way too short.  I want to talk to her much longer.  I want to tell her that she means the world to  me and that she has set such a good parenting example.  I want to tell her that she cannot leave yet because she needs to be here for so much more to come.  I want to tell her that I love her.

mom with Hazel

5 thoughts on “Hey….It’s been a while!

  1. Thought, love and prayers for your Mom, Julie. I always thought she was very stylish! Where would we be with out our Mother’s love and guidance? Let me know how she is doing, please.

    Like

  2. What beautiful words, Julie. Congratulations on 33 years ~ that is quite a feat these days! My thoughts are with your Mom today, too. I have had similar conversations with my Mom (even the accidentally on purpose part) and it is so hard face the possibility of loss. Soon enough, we will we become the oldest generation. I know that there is still much for me to learn from my Mom before I take that post.
    Love, light and a speedy recovery to your Mom!

    Like

    • Thank you, Laura! The conversations that we now are having with our parents are hard, aren’t they? I think our parents know what they want for their funerals and want to have things in place for their children. So – the conversations happen and even though they are uncomfortable for us, it probably puts our moms at ease. One of these days though, Laura, it’s gonna hit like a ton of bricks and I just won’t be ready for it even though long lives have been lived. In the meantime, you and I have a lot more learning to do! Thanks for recovery wishes for my mom. She came through surgery well but she has problems with nausea after surgery, so we’ll see. Thanks again for your well wishes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

